My BMR

3 06 2010

So I’ve been playing around on My Fitness Pal (www.myfitnesspal.com), which is the site I use for my weight loss ticker, and for the first time I noticed that they have a BMR Calculator.  For those of you who are not familiar with what BMR is, it stands for basal metabolic rate and it is essentially the amount of calories your body would burn on its own even if you were just lying in bed all day.  For someone like me who is recovering from major surgery and can only undertake a limited number of activities I was quite curious to see what mine was.  Apparently for someone of my height and weight, my body burns about 1686 calories per day!  Thats pretty sweet, especially considering that I’ve been eating around 1000-1200 calories per day (I’ve consumed just shy of 1000 calories today) so I’ve burned more than I’ve consumed 🙂

I know that my calorie count may seem pretty low, but I assure you that I have eaten TONS of food today, 3 meals and 3 snacks to be exact 🙂

Here’s my daily food diary from My Fitness Pal.  The site recommends that I consume 1200 calories, 165g carbs, 40g fat and 45g of protein daily.  As you can see I’m way below my carb count (which is good because I’m trying to limit my carb intake due to my PCOS) and have exceeded my protein by 28g.  I also kept under my fat and calorie goals for the day and I’m totally fine with that 🙂

Breakfast Calories Carbs Fat Protein
Eas – Advantedge – Carb Control Protein Shake – Chocolate Fudge, 11 oz 100 4 3 17 Ico_delete
Add FoodRemember Meal 100 4 3 17
Lunch
Homemade – Turkey Sandwich (4 Thin Slices) on Earthgrains Thin Buns With Light Mayo, 1 sandwich 185 23 8 14 Ico_delete
Add FoodRemember Meal 185 23 8 14
Dinner
Chicken Breast No Skin (Baked) – Baked Chicken Tenders No Skin, 1 oz 59 0 3 12 Ico_delete
Chicken Breast No Skin (Baked) – Baked Chicken Tenders No Skin, 1 oz 59 0 3 12 Ico_delete
Tomatoes – Red, ripe, raw, year round average, 2 slice, thin/small 5 1 0 0 Ico_delete
Alouette – Crumbled Goat Cheese, 1/8 cup 40 1 4 3 Ico_delete
Fresh Express – Heart of Romaine Lettuce, 2 cups 15 3 0 1 Ico_delete
Apples – Raw, with skin, 0.5 cup slices 29 8 0 0 Ico_delete
Cranberries – Dried, sweetened, 0.17 cup 62 16 0 0 Ico_delete
Generic – Slivered Almonds , 1 Tablespoon 40 1 4 2 Ico_delete
Pork – Cured, bacon, cooked, broiled, pan-fried or roasted, 0.5 slice cooked 22 0 2 1 Ico_delete
Trader Joes – Sesame Soy Ginger Vinaigrette, 2 tbs 35 9 0 0 Ico_delete
Beverage – Red Wine (House Glass 300ml), 150 ml 111 0 0 0 Ico_delete
Add FoodRemember Meal 477 39 16 31
Snacks
Dannon – Yogurt – Light & Fit Nonfat Vanilla, 6 oz 80 15 0 5 Ico_delete
Nuts – Almonds, dry roasted, without salt added, 0.3 oz (22 whole kernels) 51 2 4 2 Ico_delete
Earthgrain – Multigrain Whole Wheat Bread – Double Fiber, 1 slices 100 14 2 4 Ico_delete
Add FoodRemember Meal 231 31 6 11
Totals 993 97 33 73
Your Daily Goal 1,200 165 40 45
Remaining 207 68 7 -28
Calories Carbs Fat Protein
Actions

Information

2 responses

3 06 2010
thechubbygrl

I don’t want to be one of those really annoying people that points out the one wrong thing you’re doing when you’re doing amazing in everythin else. Cause you really are amazing in everything you’re doing. Your drive in losing the weight is great! You know that bit on your site that says you should be eating 1200 cals? Well that’s pretty important that you do. When you eat fewer then 1200 calories your body goes into starvation mode and begins holding on to as much fat as it can because it’s not sure when you’re going to feed it next. This starvation mode results in a slower metabolism, meaning your body not only will hold and store more fat but it will also physically burn the fat and calories slower. I don’t know your history nor do I know you, so perhaps it’s working for you. I just want other people that read your blog to know they should be eating NO LESS than 1200 calories so that way they can stay healthy and lose the weight faster.
Again I think you’re doing great! I wish I could have the motivation to eat only 1200 cals! 🙂

3 06 2010
the365dayhealthchallenge

I’m not actively trying to eat less than 1200 calories, it just happened that day because the dish I had planned for dinner didn’t work out because I thawed the chicken instead of the fish 🙂

If I’d made the fish it had a creamy sauce that would have gone with it that probably would have put me over, I thought about eating more food but I was soooo stuffed.

You make a good point though, I didn’t mean to come across like eating less than 1200 calories is ok 🙂

Leave a Reply

