Yesterday

4 06 2010

Yesterday was kind of a boring day…I wish it hadn’t been, since my boyfriend was off, but he hung out in his “man cave” and played on the computer and watched tv until he went to the gym.  I asked to go with him to try out his gym, since he HAD gotten me a 7 day guest pass, but he adamantly said no.  I think he was kinda embarrassed to take me with, last night was his second appointment with his personal trainer and apparently during the first session he spent a lot of it dry heaving and almost puking.  But seriously, I didn’t want to go watch HIM workout, I wanted to check out the facilities and get MY workout on 🙂

Didn’t happen, bummer.

I did about 15 minutes worth of my physical therapy exercises (which include a lot of work with resistance bands and my balance ball) and then my mom called and asked if I wanted to go for a walk and a light dinner with her (after we swung by the mall real quick).  Well we never left the mall, its what usually happens, but I wore my pedometer anyways and according to it and MyFitnessPal.com my four hours of “walking at a slow pace” burned over 900 calories for someone my weight…hmmm…don’t know if that’s 100% right but it made me feel better.

Being on a limited calorie diet I’m used to eating 5-6 times per day, usually 3 meals and some snacks, however when I met up with my mom yesterday, thinking that it was just going to be a “quick mall run” I hadn’t eaten my afternoon snack and was only sitting around 400ish calories consumed since I’d had a light breakfast and lunch (I haven’t been hungry at all lately and its really bothering me…).  So needless to say, after several hours of wandering the mall with my mom and watching her try on clothes my blood sugar was running pretty low and I was starting to not feel so well (light headed, irritable…) so I kinda snapped (sorry mom) and said I needed to eat something now and that she could keep eating but I had to eat.

Well, she felt bad about it and for the sake of the diet we skipped the food court and headed to one of the restaurants attached to the mall called McCarthy’s.  I was a little worried about going an Irish Pub style place (bar food..eep?) but I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of healthy options they had available.  I was set on getting a salad until I saw a burger that they’re apparently “famous” for, their Iri-Shroom burger (a burger with mushrooms sautéed in Guinness, havarti dill cheese and a herb garlic spread) so my mom and I decided to split the burger and the salad so we could try it and be healthy at the same time 🙂

It was perfect, and unlike a lot of restaurants, their portions weren’t HUGE so I was just the right amount of full without feeling bloated.  I stayed within my calorie count so that’s a plus 🙂

I also got my mom to sign up for MyFitnessPal.com!  It’s a great tool if you’re trying to lose weight, or just want a way to track your food and exercise.  Yesterday I used the message board on the site to join a June weight loss group where everyone has to set their weight loss goals for June.  Even though I’ve been having a rough couple of weeks I decided to be ambitious and set a goal of 8lbs for June.  This will put me well under 200lb (w00t) and is an average of 2lbs per week which is totally attainable.  Everyone who set a “mini” goal set up a corresponding reward, mine is a spa pedicure, I haven’t had one in so long!

Do you use goals to motivate yourself?

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 06 2010
L @ Whole Wheat Or Bust!

Aw bummer about the bf! Tell him that you are super proud of him for working so hard but you wanna go to the gym to work YOUR booty out, not watch his!

4 06 2010
the365dayhealthchallenge

Heh 🙂 Thanks I’m trying. I tried to tell him that when I’m at the gym I’m focused on ME and I’m just going to do my thing with my iPod…I don’t know what his deal is. Hopefully I’ll wear him down 🙂

Leave a Reply

